Skip to main content

You are using an old and unsupported browser. Most core functionality will not work. Please upgrade to a supported browser - Google Chrome

Archives Amplified
    Times are shown in your local time zone GMT
    Speaker Profile Image

    Matthew Condon


    Professional Bio

    Brisbane-born Condon is the author of a trilogy of books tracing the history of systemic corruption in Queensland, dating back to the 1950s, reaching its zenith during the Bjelke-Petersen era of the 1970s and 1980s. It came to a spectacular end, as a result of the Fitzgerald Commission of Inquiry in the late 1980s. The first part of the trilogy, Three Crooked Kings (2013), shone the spotlight on former Queensland Police Commissioner, Terry Lewis, who was charged in 1989 and later jailed on multiple corruption charges. The book was based on Condon's extensive interviews with Lewis and others as well as archival material. The trilogy continued in Jacks and Jokers (2014) and All Fall Down (2015).
    The story Condon has to tell is of particular interest to archivists, given that the revelations of official corruption that came to light during the Fitzgerald Inquiry were instrumental in shaping a wave of reform of public records laws across Australia, which emphasised the central importance of good recordkeeping as a necessary prerequisite for integrity in public administration.
    You can find more information about Matthew Condon and his other books at the University of Queensland Press website.

    Similar Speakers

    See All Speakers